XC IN REVIEW MileSplitCA Boys All-State Team

2021 Boys MileSplitCA All-State Cross Country Team

Newbury Park's fantastic five (from left) Daniel Appleford, Aaron Sahlman, Colin Sahlman, Leo Young, and Lex Young led a 1-6 finish in the Division 1 race at the CIF-Southern Section Cross Country Championships and highlight the MileSplitCA Boys All-State team. (Raymond Tran photo)

* * *


* * *

Led by a quartet from the record-shattering U.S. No. 1 boys cross country team, Newbury Park, it's clear that no other state in the country can put a stronger seven on the line than CA.

The 2021 MileSplitCA All-State Boys Cross Country Team is a subjective team based on results from the CIF-State Championships within the class and overall, with consideration to leaders of top teams, and section divisional results.

(For more bio information, please click the CA XC IN REVIEW 2021 link above for easy access to all previous articles in this series.)

Athletes are listed alphabetically under each header


ZACH AYERS (Davis/SJ/Sr.) - CIF-Sac-Joaquin Section Division I champion. First non-Newbury Park boy across the line at the CIF-State Division I race, placing fifth. West Region representative for Eastbay National Finals. 

CHRIS CAUDILLO (Clovis/CS/Jr.) - CIF-Central Section Division I champion. Second non-Newbury Park boy across the line at CIF-State Division I race, placing sixth. Team Nationals West Regional champion. 

KENAN PALA (Francis Parker/SD/Sr.) - CIF-State Division V champion in division record time. CIF-San Diego Section D-5 champion. Eastbay National Finals runner-up. 

AARON SAHLMAN (Newbury Park/SS/Jr.) - Consistent top-four scorer for the CIF-Southern Section, CIF-State, and Garmin RunningLane National champion. Part of a 1-6 finish at the Southern Section Final, and a 1-4 finish at State as the Panthers set points (16) and team time (73:25) records.

COLIN SAHLMAN (Newbury Park/SS/Sr.) - Unquestioned No. 1 runner in the country. Led Newbury Park to the Garmin RunningLane National title, along with record-setting performances while winning CIF-Southern Section Division 1 and CIF-State Division I titles. Ran the second-fastest time ever on the Woodward Park course by a senior, the fastest time ever in Division I at State. Led a stunning 1-6 finish at CIF-SS, 1-4 finish at CIF-State, and 1-3 finish at RunningLane.

LEO YOUNG (Newbury Park/SS/Jr.) - Teamed with twin Lex and the Sahlman brothers to lead Newbury Park to Section, State and RunningLane National titles. Set a course record in winning at Woodbridge, a junior class record in running second at the State Meet, and the No. 2 time (behind Colin Sahlman) in Division I.

LEX YOUNG (Newbury Park/SS/Jr.) - Teamed with twin Leo and the Sahlman brothers to lead Newbury Park to Section, State, and RunningLane National titles. Part of a 1-6 finish at the Southern Section Final, and a 1-4 finish at State as the Panthers set points (16) and team time (73:25) records.


DANIEL APPLEFORD (Newbury Park/SS/Sr.) - No. 5 runner on the No. 1 team in the U.S. Placed seventh in the D-I Final at State with the 13th-fastest time at the meet. 

CADEN CARNEY (Tamalpias/NC/Sr.) - North Coast Section and CIF-State Division III champion with a top-10 time at the meet. 

BRYCE GILMORE (Sage Creek/SD/Sr.) - San Diego Section Division 4 champion and CIF-State D-IV runner-up. 

ISAIAH GIVENS (Pasadena/SS/Sr.) - CIF-Southern Section Division 3 champion. Third in Division III at CIF-State.

ALEX MADER (Lick Wilmerding/NC/Sr.) - North Coast Section Division 5 champion and CIF-State D-V runner-up with the seventh-fastest time at the meet. 

SEAN MORELLO (Albany/NC/Jr.) - North Coast Section Division 4 champion. Third in D-IV at CIF-State with a top-12 time at the meet.

MAX SANNES (Big Bear/SS/Sr.) - Southern Section and CIF-State Division IV champion, West Team representative at Eastbay Nationals. 


RAMSES CORTES (Great Oak/SS/Jr.) - No. 1 runner on the No. 2 team in CA that placed second in D-I to Newbury Park at both CIF-SS and CIF-State championships.

JAI DAWSON (Dana Point/SS/Sr.) - Won titles at both CIF-Southern Section Division 2 and CIF-State Division II.

AIDAN DIMICK (Carlmont/CC/Sr.) - Central Coast Section Division 1 champion. Placed eighth in the D-I race at State. 

CONOR GIBSON (West Torrance/SS/Sr.) - No. 1 runner on Southern Section and CIF-State Division III team champ. D-III runner-up. 

BRADEN KING (Jesuit/SJ/Sr.) - Sac-Joaquin Section D-1 runner-up, 10th at CIF-State, division winner at RunningLane with No. 7 time among CA boys at the meet.

JARED STEINS (Servite/SS/Sr.) - Southern Section Division 3 runner-up. Placed fourth in D-III at CIF-State with a top-19 team at the meet.

MARK TRAMMELL (Santa Fe Christian/SD/Sr.) - San Diego Section D-5 runner-up, third in D-V at CIF-State, Eastbay National qualifier. 


This section includes other top runners in the State Meet merge, and boys previously named to the first team of MileSplitCA All-State teams for Freshman Boys, Sophomore Boys, and Junior Boys, and those recognized on one of the four Senior Boys teams. Athletes are listed alphabetically

Joshua Bell (Templeton/CS/So.); Alex Bobowski (Santa Fe Christian/SD/Sr.); Benjamin Bouie (Crystal Springs Uplands/CC/Fr.); Andrew Burr (Sacramento Country Day/SJ/Fr.); Everett Capelle (St. Margaret's/SS/So.); Christopher Chavez (St. John Bosco/SS/Sr.); Juan Chantaca (San Clemente/SS/Jr.); Lucas Cohen (Albany/NC/Fr.); Chris Coles (Claremont/SS/Sr.); Chase Cressman (Jesuit/SJ/Fr.); Adin Dibble (Sonora/SJ/Sr.); Dev Doshi (Newbury Park/SS/So.); Mario Giannini (Chico/NS/Sr.); Ethan Godsey (Agoura/SS/Sr.); Oscar Gomez (De La Salle/NC/Sr.); Broen Holman (Sonora/SJ/Fr.); Michael Julian (The York School/CC/Sr.); Will Kirk (Palos Verdes/SS/Sr.); Emmanuel Leblond (Mountain View/CC/Sr.); Hector Martinez (Newbury Park/SS/Jr.); Grant Morgenfeld (Palo Alto/CC/So.); Nate Osborn (High Tech-SD/SD/Sr.); Jason Parra (Millikan/SS/So.); Emmanuel Perez (Cathedral/SS/So.); Landon Pretre (The Menlo School/CC/Fr.); Tommy Rogers (Junipero Serra/CC/Sr.); Roland Ruckmann-Barnes (Granada/NC/Jr.); Parker Simmons (Crescenta Valley/SS/Jr.); Aydon Stefanopoulos (Archbishop Mitty/CC/Fr.); Luke Stefanou (Palos Verdes/SS/Sr.); Eyan Turk (Woodcrest Christian/SS/Fr.).