Poll: Greatest CIF-State Girls Cross Country Champion


The objective is simply for you to determine the Greatest CIF-State Cross Country Champion. This first bracket is for girls. We'll launch the boys bracket later next month.

- - -

Skip Ahead: Bios | Voting 

- - -


The CIF-State Cross Country Championships were held for the first time in 1987 with three divisions. Division IV was first contested at the State Meet in 1990 and DV was added for the 1996 championships.

The meet has always been held on the 5,000-meter course at Woodward Park in Fresno. 


In the history of the CIF-State XC Championships, only six girls have run the course to win a title in less than 17 minutes. Those six girls combined to run sub-17 to victory 11 times. Two of those girls, plus nine others, have won CIF-State XC titles in fast times between 17 minutes and 17:10. One of those plus 11 others have winning times between 17:11 and 17:19. 

We also have three girls that have won division titles all four years and another five girls who have won the state title three times. 

Anyone with three or more multiple titles and/or winning times of sub-17:20 automatically is included among the 32 girls for consideration.

Filling Out The Bracket

We identified 29 girls who meet that criteria. The final three were selected from a pool of 14 two-time champions who did not meet the criteria. They were added based on their combined winning times.

Challenges Of Just 32

There are 11 two-time champions who are not included. There are also three girls, including one champion, whose runner-up times rank among the top six fastest in meet history. That champion's winning time, however, did not meet the time criteria for inclusion.

Champions only, ladies. And the fastest champions, at that.

The Final 32

Athlete bios are listed below in tiers of four for bracketing purposes. They are listed alphabetically within each tier and were bracketed based on alphabetical order within the tier. 


Find voting on the third page. Each round will last roughly five days. Voters will be limited to one selection per matchup. Please encourage friends and teammates, current and past, to support your favorite champion. 

Thank you for your participation.