Poll Quarterfinal: Decade's Greatest Girls Distance Runner?


In second-rounding voting of the MileSplitCA poll tournament to determine the greatest girls distance runner of the past decade, Saugus grad Mariah Castillo was the top vote-getter followed by Buchanan grad Meagen Lowe and Chino Hills junior Jacqueline Duarte. The closest matchup of Round 2 was 26 votes where Great Oak grad Haley Dorris advanced past Malibu grad Claudia Lane

Great Oak has two in the quarterfinalists, Dorris and Destiny Collins. The Southern Section has five of the eight finalists. Lowe is the lone Central Section rep. The Central Coast Section is represented by Anna Maxwell and the Sac-Joaquin Section is represented by Fiona O'Keeffe

Below is a primer on this article series, a breakdown of second-round results, bios of quarterfinalists and, on the last page, QUARTERFINAL POLLS!!! Be sure to vote!

What Is This?

This is a poll tournament where your votes determined the greatest distance runner of the past decade. We're starting with the ladies. The launch of a poll tournament for the lads is tentatively scheduled for later this week.

The Setup

We originally selected 32 females based on combined distance times, ranked them in groups, placed them in a bracket of head-to-head matchups where your poll votes determine who advances. There are eight poll winners from the second round matched up for this, the quarterfinals.


Athletes included are from the period between 2010 and 2019. This is based only on track times and results without regard to XC. Runners were selected based on top 800/1600, 1600/3200 and 800/3200 combined rankings within the decade, as well as State Meet results. Single-distance-event specialists that do not rank among the top tier of either of the three combined event PR options, did not make the original 32. As a result, all 1600m and 3200m State Meet champions in the decade were included but not all 800m champions. The final cut to 32 was subjective.


Go to the page below where only your votes will determine who advances. Voting in this round will close Saturday at midnight.