Brett Ephraim Claims Big Win, Great Oak Secures Mt. SAC Win

* San Clemente's Brett Ephraim won the D1-D2 Team Sweepstakes race on Saturday at Mt. SAC

Photo Credit: Raymond Tran/MileSplit

- - - 

You can only race who's in front of you. 

And while the Division 1-2 team sweepstakes race was missing some star power on Saturday at the Mt. SAC Invitational, that did not bother San Clemente's Brett Ephraim one bit. 

The Colorado State commit picked up his biggest win of the season, clocking a winning time of 14:50 on the difficult 2.93 mile San Antonio College course. 

Related Links: 

A great mix of successes on Day 2 of the Mt. SAC Invite

All post-race interviews from Day 1 of the Mt. SAC Invite

Full Results

It wasn't enough for San Clemente, though, which fell to Great Oak by 28 points. 

The Wolfpack, responding from their first loss of the season at the ASICS Clovis Invitational, were effective and dominant, as they led two finishers -- Gabriel Rodriguez and Jack Paradise -- into the top 10 and their scoring five all within the top 36 places. 

San Clemente was second with 116 points, while Trabuco Hills was third with 135. 

M.L. King's Maximo Zavaleta was second overall in a time of 14:51, while Mira Costa's Owen Franck was third in 14:57. 

Great Oak's Rodriguez, the team's top runner, was fourth in 15:02. 

The boys Division 1-2 individual sweepstakes featured a battle up front, with De La Salle's Trey Caldwell outpacing Millikan's Jason Parra in the final stretches. 

D1-D2 Team Sweepstakes Individual Results

D1-D2 Team Sweepstakes Team Scores

1Great Oak (SS)884+7+14+27+36 (37+72)0:51 1-5 Split | 15:25 Avg
2San Clemente (SS)1161+8+15+22+70 (79+120)1:28 1-5 Split | 15:27 Avg
3Trabuco Hills (SS)1359+20+21+25+60 (62+77)0:55 1-5 Split | 15:34 Avg

Caldwell finished in 14:49 -- the second-fastest time across two days at Mt. SAC -- while Parra was second in 14:58. His Millikan team, however, earned the title with 165 points. Emmanuel Perez's time of 14:38 from Friday finished as the fastest performance of the weekend. 

The girls Division I-2- team sweepstakes was without Sadie Engelhardt and Rylee Blade, which meant that Claremont stepped up in their absence and guided themselves to a title with 65 points. 

Blade's teammate, Braelyn Combe, was first in 17:33. Her time was third-fastest of the weekend, only behind Chiara Dailey's time of 16:52 -- from Friday's action -- and South Pasadena's Abigail Errington, who ran 17:22 and finished second to Dailey. 

The girls individual sweepstakes race saw Highland's Mia Torrecillas earn the title-win in 17:39. El Toro grabbed the team title with 108 points. 

Photo Credit: Raymond Tran/MileSplit