Poll: Greatest Boys Distance Runner of the Decade



  • Top 5 vote-getters: 1. Young (773), 2. Strangio (622), 3. Anderson (578), 4. Cortes (512), 5. Haney (493).
  • Tightest matchups: Webb eliminated Bolger by 11 votes. Oshier advanced over Charvet by 18 votes. Moussa defeated Fahy by 42 votes. Gomez advanced past Grijalva by 50 votes.
  • In elimination, Grijalva received more votes (395) than did eight of the runners who advanced.
  • Great Oak had three among the original 32, all advanced.
  • The San Diego Section had three among the original 32, none advanced.
  • Among the six sections with representatives among the original 32, SDS is the only section without a runner into the Sweet 16. Each of the remaining five sections also lost at least one runner in first-round voting.