Central Coast Section 2019 XC Season in Review

I believe CCS is the only section in California that alternates between two courses (Crystal Springs and Toro Park) to determine it's section championship for teams and individuals. The famed Crystal Springs course was the host this year and the man you see above has been responsible for the maintenance of that course since the 60s. His name is Bob Rush and we in the cross country community owe him a big thank you for his tireless work on the course season after season.

Although there were Northern California fires once again this fall, the cross country season took place uninterrupted this year which resulted in fast times at many of the league meets as well as the following section and state meets.

In the next few pages, you can check out our picks for runners and teams of the year in CCS. 

CCS Results
Division I Team Champions:
Bellarmine boys, Palo Alto girls
Division II Team Champions:
Willow Glen boys, St. Francis girls
Division III Team Champions:
St. Ignatius boys, St. Ignatius girls
Division IV Team Champions:
King City boys, Menlo girls
Division V Team Champions:
Crystal Springs Uplands School boys, Castilleja girls

Division I Individual Champions: Colin Peattie Bellarmine, Lauren Soobrian Los Altos
Division II Individual Champions: Juan Pablo Garcia St. Francis, Gianna Mendoza Presentation
Division III Individual Champions: Harrison Dance Saratoga, Noe Diep El Camino
Division IV Individual Champions: Raymond Brookman Santa Cruz, Anna Weirich Harker
Division V Individual Champions: Michael Julian York, Kaiya Brooks Crystal Springs Uplands School