MileSplitCA Track & Field Boys All-State Team

Kazmier Allen, Asani Hampton and Christian Shakir-Ricks (l-r) went 1-2-3 in the 100 meters at the CIF-State Champions in early June. Shakir-Ricks would go on to win the 200 and help Murrieta Mesa to the overall boys team title. These three lead the 2018 MileSplitCA Boys All-State team.

For as much as the 2018 track & field team on the boys side felt like the year of the senior specialist, it was also very much a showcase for the future.

The 2018 MileSplitCA Boys All-State first team, a 20-member list, is made up of 14 State Meet individual champions and six at-large selections. There are nine champions from the class of 2018, three from the class of 2019 and two from the class of 2020. We included three seniors, one junior and two sophomores to the first team. 

So, yes, eight of the 20 on the first team are non-seniors. And there are nine non-seniors among the second 20-athlete team.

The MileSplitCA All-State Teams are subjective selections with strong consideration given to CIF-State Meet winners, State Meet medalists, season-long consistency at a high level, national ranking and versatility. Top ranking within a certain grade level is a consideration but not a guarantee of mention here.

As we did with the 2018 MileSplitCA Girls All-State teams, we went 20-deep with the boys first and second team, an expansion from the 17-member grade-specific teams.

All 14 individual State Meet champions are included, with six others to make up the first team. A State title guaranteed a spot on the first team. All other State Meet placement was a strong consideration with other factors, but not a guarantee of placement on either of the first two teams. All others making the State Meet final are included in the honorable mention list (beyond the top 12 in the 3200 is on a case by case basis). 

Below you will find the 2018 MileSplitCA Girls All-State honorees for first and second team, plus honorable mention. 


Photos credits: Lizette Adams, Louis Amestoy, Clark Kranz, James Leash, Kirby Lee/Image of Sport, Jeffrey Parenti, Scott Padgett, Steve Pisano, Pat Rhames, Eric Taylor, Dan Tyree.