2018 San Diego Section Contenders: Field Events

Three athletes in every event from the San Diego Section qualify to the California State Track and Field meet unless you can surpass the 2018 At-Large Time Standards at your section final. Although often overlooked (especially in favor of their neighbors to the north), the teams and athletes in the SDS have an impact on the state meet every year. Who will be advancing to compete in Clovis this June? Click through to see our picks!

Boys Long Jump


Jalyn Jackson, Eastlake

Josh Farmer, Rancho Bernardo


Chris Olave, Mission Hills

Kevin Fernandez, Cathedral Catholic


Altan Mitchell, Point Loma

Jordan Mathis, San Ysidro

Vanessa Spizewski, Rancho Buena Vista

Simone James, Horizon

Dejanae Thompson, Morse

Jasmine Rolland, Cathedral Catholic

Kiara Harrison, Mt. Miguel

Jordyn Wright, Cathedral Catholic