CIF Northern Section Finals recap

The Northern Section qualifies teams for the CIF State meet in Division 3, 4 and 5. The section does not field teams in Divisions 1 and 2. 

From the section meet, one boys team and one girls team advances to the State meet from Division 3, three boys teams and two girls teams from Division 4 and one of each from Division 5.

The formula for individual qualifiers is based off of the number of team qualifiers per gender per division. The top five from non-qualifying team(s) must place among the top eight for Divisions 3 and 5, and the top 12 for girls Division 4 and among the top 16 for boys Division 4.

The section doesn't make the live qualifying process simple by running all 45 schools in the section in the same race, regardless of division. On one hand, it does produce a true section individual and team champ. That's cool. But on the other, it makes sorting through the schools by division to uncover the state qualifiers quite cumbersome. 

Boys Division 3

Charlie Giannini, a junior from Chico, is your overall Northern Section boys champion, covering the three mile West Valley HS course in Cottonwood in 15:44.80.

Giannini was third in the section in 2016 but was the top returning finisher. He was 44th in the State final last year.

Chico won the five-school Division 3 team title and is the section's lone qualifier to State. Behind Giannini was senior Ty Thompson (11th overall in 16:41.50), junior Bretten Farrell (12th in 16:43.70), junior Rory Monninger (14th in 16:49.20) and junior Riley Farrell (18th in 16:59.25). 

Pleasant Valley junior Kyle Johnson, fourth overall (16:17.30), was the top individual qualifier in D3. He will be joined in Fresno by teammates Donovan Freer (16:38.34) and Xavier Simms (16:39.38) as the only individual qualifiers from this division.

Boys Division 4

Three teams advanced from the 15-school division: Section champion Yreka, runner-up University Prep and Paradise Valley. 

Isaac Fernandez, who was 34th at the State meet last year as a junior, won the division title in placing second overall here in 16:06.50. He led three Yreka finishers in the top 19 -- Senior Blake Chitwood was sixth (16:30.00) and sophomore Elijah Higelin was 19th (17:00.21).

Individually, West Valley senior Eric Morefield had the meet's third overall time (16:15.40) and Las Plumas senior Brian Hastings was fifth (16:23.60). Hastings' teammate Dymond Kostenko was eighth (16:33.60). Seniors Avery Grady of Enterprise (16:45.25) and Austin Mishoe of Corning (16:53.42) also punched their tickets for Fresno.

Boys Division 5

Hamilton City is the team champion of this 25-school division led by individual division champion Geoffrey Chavez, who was 46th overall (17 58.96). 

Willows junior David Gonzalez is the top individual qualifier (18:03.01) and was 50th overall. Other qualifiers for State are Brandon Taylor of Fall River, James Reese of Providence Christian, Joshua Hohberg of Providence Christian and Griffin Hamann of Mt. Shasta. 

Top 15 Boys

Three Mile Run

1Charlie Giannini11Chico High School (NS)15:44.801
2Isaac Fernandez12Yreka High (NS)16:06.502
3Eric Morefield12West Valley High School (NS)16:15.403
4Kyle Johnson11Pleasant Valley High (NS)16:17.304
5Brian Hastings12Las Plumas High (NS)16:23.605
6Blake Chitwood12Yreka High (NS)16:30.006
7Justin Matties11University Preparatory School (NS)16:33.307
8Dymond Kostenko12Las Plumas High (NS)16:33.608
9Donovan Freer11Pleasant Valley High (NS)16:38.309
10Xavier Simms12Pleasant Valley High (NS)16:39.4010
11Ty Thompson12Chico High School (NS)16:41.5011
12Bretten Farrell11Chico High School (NS)16:43.7012
13Avery Grady12Enterprise High (NS)16:45.2013
14Rory Monninger11Chico High School (NS)16:49.2014
15Austin Mishoe12Corning High School (NS)16:53.4015

For the full boys varsity individual and team results, click here.