Los Angeles City Section XC Season Preview

Division-by-Division Look at the LAC Boys

Eagle Rock's James Corrigan (400) competed in the Division II race at State. (Credit: DeAnna Turner)

Division I

Granada Hills senior Quinn Garity placed fourth in the section meet as the only non-senior among the top eight. He was also the fastest LAC boy at the State Meet, placing 70th in 16:06.50 while leading his team to 16th place finish. There are nine top-20 returners from the LAC meet in D-I.

Division II

Corrigan won the title in 16:13.31. Venice junior Juan Hernandez was third (16:34.35) and Eagle Rock senior Juan Fernando Mora was fifth (16:49.47). There are 12 top-20 returners, including four in the top 10. 

Division III

Three seniors, Sonny Hernandez of Canoga Park (16:33.32), James Coomber of Verdugo Hills and Joseph Carillo of Reseda, went 2-3-4 in the section final leading seven returners among the top 10 and 13 in the top 20. 

Division IV

Dorsey senior Christian Rodriguez won the section title (16:54.51) leading a 1-2-4-5-6 finish among boys in the class of 2020:

Overall, there are seven from the top 10, 12 from the top 15 and 13 overall returning from the top 20.

Division V

Junior Brandon Guerrero of Central City Value won the title (17:03.68) to edge Maywood junior Cesar Romero (17:09.43) to lead a top 10 sweep of non-seniors. Overall, 14 non-senior runners placed among the top 20. 

Here's the full list of the top 10 returning boys in D-V:
1Brandon Guerrero10Central City Value Charter (LA)17:03.681
2Cesar Romero10Maywood Academy (LA)17:09.432
3Norberto Valdivia11Sun Valley Magnet (LA)17:41.873
4Aldo Zamora11Discovery Prep (LA)17:45.064
5Luke Melendez10New West Charter School (LA)17:49.385
6Carson Severson9New West Charter School (LA)17:53.926
7Adrian Buitron11Sun Valley Magnet (LA)17:55.987
8Bryan Chavez10New West Charter School (LA)17:58.848
9Brandon Adreani9New West Charter School (LA)18:10.469
10Mark Flores9Sun Valley Magnet (LA)18:16.3310