CA Indoor State Meet Day 2 Highlights

The second day of competition brought more records as a total of 15 records were set during the two days of competition. The team champions are listed below although the Great Oak TC boys team walked away with the winning team plaque as the top California team.

In order of events (New Meet Records)
Girls 55 Meter Dash-Zaria Francis Rio Mesa TC 6.94
Girls 300 Meter Dash-Schantell Williams Lodi TC 41.53
Boys 300 Meter Dash-Marcel Espinoza Santa Monica TC 36.29
Boys 1 Mile Run-Isaac Cortes Great Oak TC 4:16.70
Girls 1450 Sprint Medley Relay-St. Mary's Academy TC 3:46.49
Boys 1450 Sprint Medley Relay-Cathedral TC 3:10.12
Boys 800 Meter Run-Connor Ross McQueen TC 1:56.15
Boys High Jump-Michael Burke Lemoore TC 6'10"

Final Girls Team Standings (Top 5)
1) Oaks Christian TC 58
2) Great Oak TC 42
3) Agoura TC 28
4) St. Mary's TC 24
5) Mission Viejo TC 18
5) Poway TC 18

Final Boys Team Standings (Top 5)
1) McQueen TC 50
2) Great Oak TC 40
3) Cathedral TC 24
4) Adolfo Camarillo TC 22
4) Mt. Pleasant TC 22
4) James Logan TC 22

The 55 Meter Hurdle races led off the day's competition with Jaela Williams of Junipero Serra TC taking the individual title in 8.05. Justin Collins of Carson TC won the boy's competition racing to a 7.56 winning effort.

In what some considered the most anticipated race of the meet, Zaria Francis of the Rio Mesa TC ran down Suzie Acolatze of Mission Hills in the final meters of the 55 Meter Dash final. The winning time of 6.94 for Francis is ranked #2 in the country while Acolatze's time of 6.98 is #5. In the boys competition, Ethan Chen of Adolfo Camarillo TC edged out Zach Shinnick of Damien TC 6.511 to 6.520. In the always exciting affair, 3 additional sprinters (Alec Duran, Tristan Griffith and Alex Young) raced to 6.53 efforts and a total of 5 athletes separated by less than a second.

Schantell Williams of Lodi TC won the girls 300 Meter Dash competition in a new meet record time of 41.53. She was pushed by another sprinter who also dipped under the 42 second mark, Sarah Johnson of Oaks Christian TC in 41.72. In this wildly popular event (15 heats), the winner came out of the 15th heat with Marcel Espinoza of Santa Monica TC taking the individual title with a new meet record 36.29.

In the mile competition, Sonoma Academy's Rylee Bowen (above courtesy of Thomas Benjamin) rallied from sickness and overcame several early leaders to take the race in 5:03.48. Morgin Coonfield of McKinleyville TC out-leaned Claire Graves of Citrus Valley TC 5:08.17 to 5:08.18. Isaac Cortes of Great Oak TC defeated McQueen TC runner Kai Benedict 4:16.70 to 4:21.12. The winning time was a new meet record.

The medley relay races were won respectively by St. Mary's TC (Girls-3:46.49) and Cathedral TC (Boys-3:10.12). Both times established new meet records. Watch for both teams during the outdoor season as they can compete with the best California has to offer.

In the 800 Meter races, freshman Kalea Ibarra of Riverside Poly TC won the girl's competition in 2:19.16. McQueen TC senior, Connor Ross (above courtesy of Thomas Benjamin) won his 2nd individual event here and established a new meet record of 1:56.15.

Oaks Christian TC closed the girls running competition by taking the 4 x 400 Meter Relay in 4:03.19. McQueen TC anchored by 2-time individual champion Connor Ross, won the boys' competition in 3:33.49 outdistancing James Logan in their heat as well as the other teams in the "fast" heat.

In the field event competitions, the lone meet record was established by Michael Burke of Lemoore TC as he cleared 6'10" and took several good efforts to scale 7'0". Tara Davis of Agoura TC won the triple jump in 40'2" after winning the long jump the previous day and a 2nd place finish in 55 Meter Hurdles. Melissa Maneatis of Del Oro TC scaled 12'0" in the Pole Vault competition and winning by clearing the winning height in less attempts than 2nd place finisher Erika Malaspina of Pacific Collegiate. CJ Alumbres of Vista Murrieta TC won the boys Triple Jump in 47'4.75". In the unique indoor Weight Throw, Tyler Merkley of Los Osos TC (69'8") and Emelda Malm-Annan of Monterey Trails (50'7") won the respective competitions.