California Track & Field Coaches of the Year (Boys/Girls)

The last time a Central Section boys' team won a California state team Track and Field title, Clovis East shared the award with three other teams in 2009. For the girls, the wait was a much longer one as Bakersfield won the state title in 1990. 

This season, two teams from the Central Section swept the team titles and for their efforts, their coaches have been chosen as the respective coaches of the year.


One of the pre-season favorites for this year's boy's team title was Clovis North (DeAnna Turner photo above). They were led by their emerging superstar junior Caleb Foster (interview below) who entered this season with previous state meet experience in 2018. At this year's state meet, Clovis North powered to victory as Foster won the long and triple jumps and finished in 2nd place in the 110-meter hurdles. He also anchored the 400 relay team which finished in 2nd place. Sprinter Naythn Scruggs finished in 6th place in the 100 meters and also ran a leg on the 400 relay team while Isaiah Galindo finished in 7th place in the 3200 meters to complete the scoring. For the team's winning effort, Clovis North head coach Richard Brazil (far left above) is our coach of the year for the boys. Along with Brazil we would also like to acknowledge the rest of the Clovis North coaching staff which included Jason Lienau (distance), Johnathon Clark (jumps), Mike Rivera (sprints), Melanie McBath (hurdles), Kayley Braucher (throws), Russell Weaver (pole vault), Wendi Salvador (distance) and Josh Norman (sprints).


For the girls, Buchanan was among the favorites throughout the season but was definitely not the favorite. They picked up steam in the postseason and then proceeded to record a near-perfect state final effort. We detailed their state meet performance at this LINK as they were chosen our girls' team of the year. Their head coach, Brian Weaver was included in our California Coaching Legends series and can now add a state Track and Field team title to his many accolades. For his effort this past season, Weaver is our Coach of the Year. Our Jeff Parenti interviewed Meagen Lowe and Corie Smith below. Along with Weaver, the rest of the Buchanan coaching staff includes Billie Childs (jumps), Marty Simpson (distance), Nick Paramo (pole vault), Alison Bartosch (distance), Sarah Estes (sprints), Armando Negrete (distance), Ray Hanson (throws), Win Downing (timing), Alex Clausen (pole vault), Bob Smith (discus) and Scott Endler (discus).