NFHS Coach of the Year Nominations Released By CIF

From left, Albert Caruana, Brian Weaver and Chris Williams are among the 25 cross country and track and field coaches who have been nominated by their respective sections for the NFHS California State Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year. Nearly 150 coaches statewide across all sports representing all 10 CIF sections were nominated. (Photos by Kirby Lee/Image of Sport, Jeffrey Parenti)

- - -

The California Interscholastic Federation on Thursday announced the list of Section nominees for the NFHS California State Coach of the Year award for the 2019-20 school year.

The list of nominees across all 10 sections recognizes 148 coaches, including 25 statewide from cross country and track and field. 

These coaches were selected based on the positive work they have done with the student-athletes in their respective sports programs, according to the release

"The CIF would like to thank and honor these well-deserving coaches for all they do for the student-athletes of California as their efforts go far beyond the court, field, mat, track, or pool deck," CIF Executive Director Ron Nocetti said in the release. 

All those listed are candidates for the overall NFHS Coach of the Year Award. 

Nominated Coaches In Cross Country, Track and Field

Section nominations for cross country and track and field are listed below by sport, alphabetized by section. Not all sections nominated coaches for both genders and all sports.

Boys Cross Country

Ivan Huff (Paso Robles) - Central Section

Phil Pompei (St. Francis) - Central Coast Section

Bruce Thomson (San Pedro) - Los Angeles City Section

Chris Williams (Dublin) - North Coast Section

Sean Kohles (Skyline) - Oakland Section

Kevin Selby (Nevada Union) - Sac-Joaquin Section

Tialoc Venacio (Crawford) - San Diego Section

Olga Camacho (Burton) - San Francisco Section

Colin Pratt (Agoura) - Southern Section

Girls Cross Country

Paul Contreras (Foothill) - Central Section 

Albert Caruana (Crystal Springs Uplands) - Central Coast Section

Roman Gomez (Belmont) - Los Angeles City Section

Ruth Seabrook (Northgate) - North Coast Section

Richie Boulet (Oakland Tech) - Oakland Section

Amber Lassetter (Consumnes Oaks) - Sac-Joaquin Section

Robert Muschek (Sage Creek) - San Diego Section

Danny Camacho (Washington) - San Francisco Section

Kristen Goossens (Orange Lutheran) - Southern Section

Boys Track and Field

Brian Weaver (Buchanan) - Central Section

Mike Buckley (Convent & Stuart Hall) - North Coast Section

Peanut/Tena Harms (El Dorado) - Sac-Joaquin Section

Kevin Doherty (Lincoln) - San Francisco Section

Girls Track and Field

Ryan Renz (Bakersfield Liberty) - Central Section

Dave Unterholzner (Bella Vista) - Sac-Joaquin Section

Andy Leong (Lowell) - San Francisco Section